Skip to content

Advertising disclosure: We earn commissions from some of the products we link to. It never changes our scores or what we publish. Read the full disclosure

Tom’s Weight LossRankings
CompoundedNot tested · not scored

TRAVA

TRAVA, Dallas, Texas

A Dallas-based compounded platform selling semaglutide from around $118 a month and tirzepatide from around $179, with the consultation, ongoing care and shipping included. What sets it apart is disclosure: it names both fulfilling pharmacies — Optimal Balance and VialsRx — asks you to select which one you want, describes each one's cold-chain packaging, and publishes a clear explanation of what additives like B12 are and why pharmacies use them.

Sources captured · researched by Tom

Medications offered

As listed on the provider’s own site. Whether a product is FDA-approved or compounded is the single most important distinction here — we explain why.

  • Compounded semaglutideCompounded · not FDA-approved
  • Compounded tirzepatideCompounded · not FDA-approved
  • Compounded GLP-1 with vitamin B12Compounded · not FDA-approved

What they publish

TRAVA publishes 6 of 12 standard terms. Fields marked “not publicly disclosed” were not stated on the pages we captured, and we have not filled those gaps with assumptions. Compare disclosure across providers

Membership / programme fee
None published — states the free online consultation, ongoing care from licensed providers, and shipping carry no additional cost (as published)
Medication cost
Compounded semaglutide published at $117.96 per month and compounded tirzepatide at $178.98 per month, with GLP-1s advertised from $89. Quarterly packages published as saving $87.92 on semaglutide and $94.96 on tirzepatide. Other dose or product figures published at $69.98, $88.65, $97.98, $124.71, $125.82 and $127.86. States the price changes if you adjust your dose, and that each month you review your options and choose the price and dose that fit your budget (as published)
Introductory offer
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Insurance
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
HSA / FSA
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Consultation process
Free online consultation via a comprehensive questionnaire, matched with a provider licensed in your state. States ongoing care from licensed providers is included at no additional cost.
Eligibility
States eligibility depends on BMI and other health factors evaluated during medical screening, and that many people qualify without being severely overweight. A specific threshold was not published on the pages we captured.
Lab work
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Pharmacy fulfilment
Names both pharmacies — Optimal Balance Pharmacy and VialsRx — and asks the patient to select which one during dosing setup. States its active ingredients are sourced from FDA-approved Green List manufacturers, that it sells prescription peptides only rather than research peptides, and that it is LegitScript certified.
Shipping
States shipping and handling are included at no additional cost, and describes the cold-chain packaging each pharmacy uses — a 'Kangaroo Pack' from VialsRx and an insulated thermos-style container from Optimal Balance.
Support services
States questions, adjustments and encouragement are part of the service rather than ending at the prescription, with providers able to adjust dosing instructions so a higher-strength vial is used at a lower dose if you are not ready to titrate up.
Cancellation
Cancellation terms were not published on the pages we captured.
Refunds
Refund terms were not published on the pages we captured.

What stands out

  • Names both fulfilling pharmacies and lets the patient choose between them. Nothing else in this directory hands the patient that decision — most will not name a pharmacy at all.
  • Describes each pharmacy's cold-chain packaging by name, which is a level of operational detail almost nobody publishes and which matters for an injectable shipped in summer.
  • Publishes a clear, non-promotional explanation of 'pure' versus B12-added compounded formulations, stating plainly that neither indicates medical superiority and that pharmacies sometimes add B12 for marketing differentiation as well as tolerance. That is an unusually candid thing for a seller to write.
  • Correctly explains that certificates of authenticity belong to research peptides, that it does not sell those, and that legitimacy for prescription peptides is validated through LegitScript instead.
  • Explains that compounding pharmacies prepare medication at different concentrations, so the same dose can be a different liquid volume — a practical detail that causes real dosing confusion.
  • States the price changes with dose, and frames the monthly review as a chance to choose a price and dose that fit your budget. Letting cost influence dose selection is worth thinking about carefully.
  • Runs an influencer programme with published earnings, so some recommendations you encounter for TRAVA are paid.
  • No refund or cancellation terms are published.

Questions to ask before you pay

These are things we could not settle from published pages, or that we think are easy to misread. Get answers in writing.

  • The price rises with dose. What will your likely maintenance dose cost, not the starting one?
  • Being invited to choose a dose that fits your budget puts a clinical decision on a financial footing. What dose does your provider actually recommend?
  • Which pharmacy should you choose, and what is the difference between them beyond packaging?
  • No refund or cancellation policy is published.
  • Is baseline lab work expected? None is mentioned.
  • Compounded medication is not FDA-approved. Do you understand what that means for oversight and recourse?

May suit

Someone who wants to know exactly which pharmacy made their medicine — and to pick it — and who will hold the dose decision separate from the price.

Limitations

  • Compounded only.
  • Pricing moves with dose, so the advertised figures are entry prices.
  • No refund or cancellation terms published.
  • No published BMI threshold or lab requirement.
  • Paid influencer promotion means some third-party recommendations are not independent.

Frequently asked

Why does naming the pharmacy matter so much?

Because it is the one thing that lets you check anything yourself. A named pharmacy — here, Optimal Balance or VialsRx — can be looked up for state licensing, inspection history and accreditation. TRAVA goes further than naming: it asks which one you want. Across this directory, the overwhelming majority will say only 'a licensed partner pharmacy', which is unverifiable by design.

Is B12 in my semaglutide a good thing?

TRAVA's own answer is the honest one: these are simply different formulations, neither is medically superior, and pharmacies add B12 for tolerance, energy, metabolic support — or marketing differentiation. Some patients report an energy boost, which is not guaranteed. If you want the plain molecule, ask for the 'pure' formulation; if you are offered a version with additives, ask which reason applies.

Should I pick a dose based on price?

No — and this is the part of TRAVA's model to be careful with. The site frames the monthly review as choosing the price and dose that fit your goals and budget. Dose is a clinical decision that belongs to your provider based on response and tolerance. Ask what dose is recommended first, then decide whether you can afford it; if you cannot, that is a conversation about the plan, not a reason to under-dose.

Sources

Captured . Pages change — check the current version before relying on anything here.

Worth comparing against

CompoundedInsurance support

Cora Health

Cora Health, with clinical services delivered through the Wasef Health provider network

Names both of its compounding pharmacies and publishes the whole price ladder, not a 'starting at' figure

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Included
Publishes9/12 terms
CompoundedInsurance support

Coby Health

Coby Health LLC, described as operating a marketplace and patient management system rather than providing medical or pharmacy services itself

Pay-as-you-go compounded GLP-1s with a published dose-by-dose price ladder and no subscription

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Included
Publishes9/12 terms
Compounded

NiceRx

NiceRx

Compounded semaglutide at $99 then $199, with the four states it cannot serve named on the page

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Included
Publishes7/12 terms