Skip to content

Advertising disclosure: We earn commissions from some of the products we link to. It never changes our scores or what we publish. Read the full disclosure

Tom’s Weight LossRankings
CompoundedNot tested · not scored

EllieMD

EllieMD

A nationwide compounded telehealth platform working with a dedicated 503A partner pharmacy, selling twelve-week prescription programmes with a reassessment at the end. It publishes two things most competitors do not: an explicit BMI threshold, including a lower one for people transferring from another programme, and a disclosure that some testimonials come from Independent Brand Partners who earn compensation. Payment is refunded if a provider decides you are not eligible.

Sources captured · researched by Tom

Medications offered

As listed on the provider’s own site. Whether a product is FDA-approved or compounded is the single most important distinction here — we explain why.

  • Compounded GLP-1 weight management medicationCompounded · not FDA-approved
  • Compounded peptide therapiesCompounded · not FDA-approved

What they publish

EllieMD publishes 7 of 12 standard terms. Fields marked “not publicly disclosed” were not stated on the pages we captured, and we have not filled those gaps with assumptions. Compare disclosure across providers

Membership / programme fee
None — states there are no hidden membership, shipping or consultation fees (as published)
Medication cost
No medication price was published on the pages we captured. States a $25 credit toward a future order as a referral thank-you (as published)
Introductory offer
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Insurance
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
HSA / FSA
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Consultation process
Secure online medical intake reviewed by a state-licensed, board-certified MD, DO or qualified medical provider. States the consultation may be by secure messaging or video depending on your state, and that a phone call may be required. Names a board-certified nurse practitioner among its clinicians.
Eligibility
States patients must be 18 or over, resident or physically present in an eligible state, and meet clinical requirements — with a published BMI floor of 25, or 22 for patients transferring from another weight-loss prescription programme. States availability in all fifty states.
Lab work
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Pharmacy fulfilment
States medications are dispensed from 503A-compliant, state-licensed facilities through a dedicated partner pharmacy, and that it sources only from licensed compounding pharmacies using FDA-registered suppliers rather than research-grade material.
Shipping
States medication ships directly to your home, typically within 2 to 10 business days, with no separate shipping fee.
Support services
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Cancellation
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Refunds
States that if a medical provider determines you are not eligible for a programme, your payment is refunded. Maintains a separate published refund and returns policy.

What stands out

  • Publishes an actual BMI threshold — 25 and above, or 22 and above for patients transferring in from another programme. Most of this directory publishes no clinical threshold at all.
  • Discloses that some testimonials may come from EllieMD Independent Brand Partners who earn compensation. That disclosure is required by the FTC's endorsement rules, and many sites in this category omit it.
  • Sells treatment as a twelve-week programme with a formal reassessment at the end rather than an open-ended subscription.
  • States it works with a dedicated 503A partner pharmacy, and explicitly rejects research-grade material as a source.
  • Refunds payment where a provider decides you are not eligible.
  • No medication price appears anywhere on the pages we captured, so the cost is only visible after you begin the intake.
  • The brand-partner referral structure means some of the people recommending the service to you have a financial interest in your signing up.

Questions to ask before you pay

These are things we could not settle from published pages, or that we think are easy to misread. Get answers in writing.

  • No price is published anywhere. What does the twelve-week programme actually cost, and what does it cost to continue after the reassessment?
  • A BMI of 22 for transferring patients is below the threshold at which the branded GLP-1s are approved. What is the clinical justification in your case?
  • If a brand partner recommended EllieMD to you, are they paid for that recommendation?
  • Which pharmacy dispenses your medication, and can you see its accreditation?
  • What happens at the twelve-week reassessment if the provider recommends stopping — what is refundable?
  • Compounded medication is not FDA-approved. Do you understand what that means for oversight and recourse?

May suit

Someone who wants a defined twelve-week course with a formal reassessment rather than an indefinite subscription, and who will ask for the price before starting the intake.

Limitations

  • No published pricing at all, which makes comparison with anything else here impossible before you sign up.
  • Compounded only.
  • Insurance and HSA/FSA positions are not published.
  • No lab work requirement is published.
  • Part of the marketing runs through paid brand partners, so recommendations you encounter may not be independent.
  • A transfer-in BMI floor of 22 is low relative to the approved indications for these medications.

Frequently asked

What BMI do I need?

EllieMD publishes 25 or higher, and 22 or higher for patients transferring from another weight-loss prescription programme, including from a different telehealth platform. For comparison, Wegovy and Zepbound are FDA-approved at a BMI of 30, or 27 with a weight-related condition. A threshold of 22 is well below that, so it is a fair question to put to the prescribing provider.

Are the testimonials independent?

Not necessarily, and the site says so. Its own disclosure states some testimonials may be from EllieMD Independent Brand Partners who earn compensation. Making that disclosure is what the FTC requires; the useful thing for you is knowing to weigh those reviews accordingly, including any recommendation that brought you here.

What does it cost?

Not published. Nothing on the pages we captured attaches a figure to the weight management programme, so the cost only becomes visible once you are into the intake. The site does state there are no hidden membership, shipping or consultation fees, and that you are refunded if a provider finds you ineligible.

Sources

Captured . Pages change — check the current version before relying on anything here.

Worth comparing against

CompoundedInsurance support

Cora Health

Cora Health, with clinical services delivered through the Wasef Health provider network

Names both of its compounding pharmacies and publishes the whole price ladder, not a 'starting at' figure

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Included
Publishes9/12 terms
CompoundedInsurance support

Coby Health

Coby Health LLC, described as operating a marketplace and patient management system rather than providing medical or pharmacy services itself

Pay-as-you-go compounded GLP-1s with a published dose-by-dose price ladder and no subscription

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Included
Publishes9/12 terms
CompoundedInsurance support

Fitish RX

Fitish, a clean beauty brand founded by Jenna Owens, with a telehealth arm trading as Fitish RX

A skincare brand that added GLP-1s, with flat all-in pricing and an unusually honest answer on HSA cards

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Included
Publishes8/12 terms