Skip to content

Advertising disclosure: We earn commissions from some of the products we link to. It never changes our scores or what we publish. Read the full disclosure

Tom’s Weight LossRankings
Brand-nameNot tested · not scored

REAL Weight Loss & Wellness

REAL Weight Loss & Wellness, Atlanta, Georgia, founded 2015 by Dr Jada Moore-Ruffin, MD, FAAFP, ABOM-BC

An Atlanta practice founded in 2015 and led by a physician double board-certified in family medicine and obesity medicine, with locations across Vinings, Alpharetta, Sandy Springs and Decatur plus telehealth. GLP-1s including Wegovy, semaglutide and tirzepatide are prescribed only after labs and a full evaluation, alongside nutrition planning, lifestyle coaching and hormone support. It treats men, women and teenagers.

Sources captured · researched by Tom

Medications offered

As listed on the provider’s own site. Whether a product is FDA-approved or compounded is the single most important distinction here — we explain why.

  • Wegovy (semaglutide)FDA-approved
  • SemaglutideType not stated
  • TirzepatideType not stated
  • B12 injectionsType not stated

What they publish

REAL Weight Loss & Wellness publishes 5 of 12 standard terms. Fields marked “not publicly disclosed” were not stated on the pages we captured, and we have not filled those gaps with assumptions. Compare disclosure across providers

Membership / programme fee
No weight programme pricing published on the pages we captured
Medication cost
No medication pricing published on the pages we captured. Aesthetic services are priced separately, with published figures including $115, $125, $135 and $150 by treatment length (as published)
Introductory offer
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Insurance
Publishes an insurance section; its billing position was not stated on the pages we captured.
HSA / FSA
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Consultation process
In-person visits across several Atlanta locations plus telehealth, led by a physician double board-certified in family medicine and obesity medicine and a Fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians. States plans are built from labs and history rather than a generic starting dose, and that injections are administered by trained clinical staff on site.
Eligibility
States programmes serve men, women and teenagers, with every recommendation based on individual consultation and clinical eligibility. Specific criteria were not published on the pages we captured.
Lab work
States GLP-1 medication is added only after evaluation of labs and health history, and that consultation and labs form the first stage of the programme.
Pharmacy fulfilment
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Shipping
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Support services
States nutrition planning, lifestyle coaching, ongoing monitoring and hormone support may form part of a plan alongside medication, with the physician staying involved beyond the first visit.
Cancellation
Cancellation terms were not published on the pages we captured.
Refunds
Refund terms were not published on the pages we captured.

What stands out

  • Led by a physician certified by the American Board of Obesity Medicine. Across this entire directory that credential is close to unique, and obesity medicine is the specialty that actually covers this treatment.
  • States medication is prescribed only after labs and a full evaluation, with dosing calibrated individually rather than a generic starting dose.
  • Treats adolescents as well as adults, which requires a materially different clinical approach and is worth discussing carefully with a specialist.
  • Operates several physical locations across metropolitan Atlanta with injections administered on site by clinical staff.
  • Publishes prices for its aesthetic services but nothing for the weight programme or medication.
  • Claims patients have lost over 200,000 pounds collectively, with no published basis or period for the figure.
  • Does not state whether the semaglutide and tirzepatide offered are branded or compounded.

Questions to ask before you pay

These are things we could not settle from published pages, or that we think are easy to misread. Get answers in writing.

  • Nothing about the weight programme is priced. What does the consultation cost, and what does the medication cost?
  • Is the semaglutide or tirzepatide branded or compounded?
  • The 200,000-pound figure has no stated basis. Over how many patients and what period?
  • For adolescent treatment, what monitoring and follow-up is in place, and who else is involved in the decision?
  • What do the initial labs cost, and are follow-up labs included?
  • No refund or cancellation terms are published.

May suit

Someone in metropolitan Atlanta who wants a physician actually trained in obesity medicine rather than a platform prescriber, and who will establish the cost at consultation.

Limitations

  • No published pricing for the weight programme.
  • Atlanta area only for in-person care.
  • The medication type is not stated.
  • No refund, cancellation or published eligibility criteria.
  • The headline outcome claim is unsubstantiated on the site.

Frequently asked

What is board certification in obesity medicine?

A subspecialty certification from the American Board of Obesity Medicine, requiring dedicated training and examination in the treatment of obesity — pharmacology, metabolic physiology, behavioural intervention and surgical referral. It is the credential most directly relevant to prescribing a GLP-1, and it is vanishingly rare across this directory, where the norm is a general prescriber reviewing a questionnaire. If clinical depth matters more to you than price, this is the qualification to look for.

Do they treat teenagers?

The site states programmes serve men, women and teens. GLP-1 prescribing in adolescents is an established but specialised area — Wegovy is FDA-approved from age 12 — and it demands closer monitoring, growth considerations and family involvement than adult treatment. A physician board-certified in obesity medicine is the right kind of clinician for that conversation; ask specifically what the monitoring plan looks like.

Sources

Captured . Pages change — check the current version before relying on anything here.

Worth comparing against

Brand-nameInsurance support

Health Express Clinics

Health Express Clinics, Lewisville, Texas

A physician-led Texas clinic that takes insurance and will prescribe the cheap old drugs as well as the new ones

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes7/12 terms
Brand-nameCompoundedInsurance support

Houston Weight Loss Center

Houston Weight Loss Center, directed by John Bergeron, MD

Files your prior authorisation free, publishes a $149 cash price, and names the Medicare bridge programme

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes8/12 terms
Brand-nameCompoundedInsurance support

Tactus Health

Tactus Health, Sugar Hill, Georgia

Offers brand and compounded, injectable and oral — and argues against the questionnaire-approval model it competes with

Membership
Not published
Medication
Not published
Publishes6/12 terms