Skip to content

Advertising disclosure: We earn commissions from some of the products we link to. It never changes our scores or what we publish. Read the full disclosure

Tom’s Weight LossRankings
Brand-nameNot tested · not scored

Health Express Clinics

Health Express Clinics, Lewisville, Texas

A family medicine practice in Lewisville, Texas, where a named board-certified physician personally evaluates GLP-1 candidates. It accepts insurance including Medicare plans, publishes the standard BMI criteria, and — unusually for this directory — presents phentermine, Contrave and Qsymia as real options alongside semaglutide and tirzepatide, including as bridge therapy while an insurance approval is pending. Monitoring is monthly with lab rechecks every three to six months.

Sources captured · researched by Tom

Medications offered

As listed on the provider’s own site. Whether a product is FDA-approved or compounded is the single most important distinction here — we explain why.

  • SemaglutideType not stated
  • TirzepatideType not stated
  • PhentermineFDA-approved
  • Qsymia (phentermine/topiramate)FDA-approved
  • Contrave (naltrexone/bupropion)FDA-approved

What they publish

Health Express Clinics publishes 7 of 12 standard terms. Fields marked “not publicly disclosed” were not stated on the pages we captured, and we have not filled those gaps with assumptions. Compare disclosure across providers

Membership / programme fee
No membership published — this is a medical practice billing for visits (as published)
Medication cost
No price published for the GLP-1 medications. Publishes phentermine at $10-$25 for a 30-day supply at most local pharmacies, and a monthly cost band of $100-$200 in its phentermine comparison (as published)
Introductory offer
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Insurance
Accepts insurance, publishes a list of accepted plans including Medicare plans, and states it provides insurance navigation support. Offers discount cards or coupons for patients without coverage.
HSA / FSA
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Consultation process
States a named board-certified family physician personally evaluates all GLP-1 candidates, with monthly check-ins available in person or by telehealth. Offers telemedicine consultations for eligible Texas residents.
Eligibility
Publishes criteria of a BMI of 30 or higher, or 27 or higher with weight-related conditions such as hypertension, sleep apnea or type 2 diabetes. States it regularly prescribes for patients in their fifties and sixties with comorbidities, subject to screening.
Lab work
States in-house lab testing for rapid diagnosis, with lab rechecks every three to six months as part of the weight programme.
Pharmacy fulfilment
Prescriptions are filled at local pharmacies rather than through a captive fulfilment channel.
Shipping
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Support services
States monthly check-ins in person or by telehealth, referral to behavioural therapy where appropriate, and lab rechecks every three to six months.
Cancellation
Cancellation terms were not published on the pages we captured.
Refunds
Refund terms were not published on the pages we captured.

What stands out

  • Presents phentermine, Contrave and Qsymia as legitimate options rather than treating GLP-1s as the only answer, including explicitly as bridge therapy while waiting for insurance approval and for patients not eligible for injections. Almost nothing else in this directory offers a cheaper alternative when the expensive one is out of reach.
  • Publishes phentermine's actual cost — $10 to $25 for a thirty-day supply at most pharmacies — which puts the price of the GLP-1 market in perspective.
  • Accepts insurance and Medicare plans, in a category that is overwhelmingly cash-pay.
  • Publishes the monitoring cadence: monthly check-ins and lab rechecks every three to six months.
  • A named board-certified family physician is stated to evaluate every GLP-1 candidate personally, with in-house lab testing available.
  • Cites published literature, including on combining pharmacotherapy with behaviour therapy, alongside its clinical claims.
  • Uses de-identified patient vignettes with outcomes on its marketing pages, which are illustrative rather than substantiated results.
  • No price is published for the GLP-1 medications themselves or for the visits.

Questions to ask before you pay

These are things we could not settle from published pages, or that we think are easy to misread. Get answers in writing.

  • What does the visit cost if your insurance does not cover it, and what does the GLP-1 cost at the pharmacy?
  • Is this practical for you if you are not in the Dallas-Fort Worth area — telehealth is stated for eligible Texas residents.
  • What do the in-house labs cost, and are the three-to-six-month rechecks billed separately?
  • If a cheaper option such as phentermine is offered instead of a GLP-1, is that a clinical judgement or a coverage constraint? Both are legitimate — you should know which.
  • The patient vignettes describe individual outcomes. What results does the practice see typically?

May suit

Someone in Texas who wants a physician they can sit in front of, wants to use insurance, and wants the cheaper older medications considered rather than dismissed.

Limitations

  • Geographically limited — a Lewisville, Texas practice with telehealth for eligible Texas residents.
  • No published pricing for visits or GLP-1 medication.
  • No compounded route, so if coverage is refused the brand-name cash price applies.
  • No refund or cancellation terms published.
  • Weight management is one service in a general family practice.

Frequently asked

Why would I want phentermine instead of a GLP-1?

Cost, mostly, and this practice is unusually willing to say so — it publishes phentermine at $10 to $25 for a thirty-day supply against GLP-1 prices that run into the hundreds. It also presents it as bridge therapy while an insurance approval is pending, and as an option for patients who cannot use injections. The trade-off is real: phentermine is a short-term appetite suppressant with far smaller average weight loss than semaglutide or tirzepatide, and it is not a like-for-like substitute.

Do they take insurance?

Yes — the practice publishes a list of accepted insurers including Medicare plans, and states it provides insurance navigation support, with discount cards or coupons for patients without coverage. In a category where nearly every telehealth seller is cash-pay by design, that is the main reason to consider a practice like this over a national platform.

How closely am I monitored?

The published cadence is monthly check-ins, in person or by telehealth, with lab rechecks every three to six months and a named board-certified physician evaluating every GLP-1 candidate. That is more structured than the asynchronous questionnaire model most of this directory runs on, though the site does not publish what any of it costs.

Sources

Captured . Pages change — check the current version before relying on anything here.

Worth comparing against

CompoundedInsurance support

Omnia TeleHealth

Omnia TeleHealth, founded by Blair Carmichael-Lober, DNP, CRNP

A flat $69 weight loss consultation, published BMI criteria, and a named partner pharmacy

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes7/12 terms
Compounded

Options Medical Weight Loss

Options Medical Weight Loss

Clinic group offering compounded injections plus oral weight medication options

Membership
Not published
Medication
Not published
Publishes0/12 terms
CompoundedInsurance support

Medi-Weightloss

Medi-Weightloss

National clinic franchise that bills visits to insurance and includes labs in the first visit

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes4/12 terms