Skip to content

Advertising disclosure: We earn commissions from some of the products we link to. It never changes our scores or what we publish. Read the full disclosure

Tom’s Weight LossRankings
Not tested · not scored

Preventative Medical Clinic

Preventative Medical Clinic, founded 2007 by Justin Kohll, PharmD, Omaha and Millard, Nebraska

A two-clinic Nebraska practice founded in 2007 by a third-generation pharmacist with over 35 years in practice, built out of a family pharmacy business and recognised by the Nebraska Pharmacists Association for incorporating a prescribing medical clinic into a pharmacy. Weight management is sold as a membership alongside BOTOX and laser memberships. Treatment financing is offered through Cherry, and no prices are published.

Sources captured · researched by Tom

Medications offered

As listed on the provider’s own site. Whether a product is FDA-approved or compounded is the single most important distinction here — we explain why.

  • Weight loss medicationType not stated

What they publish

Preventative Medical Clinic publishes 2 of 12 standard terms. Fields marked “not publicly disclosed” were not stated on the pages we captured, and we have not filled those gaps with assumptions. Compare disclosure across providers

Membership / programme fee
A Weight Loss Management Membership is published alongside BOTOX and laser memberships, described as securing the clinic's best pricing. Figures were not published on the pages we captured (as published)
Medication cost
No pricing published on the pages we captured
Introductory offer
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Insurance
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
HSA / FSA
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Consultation process
States a medical aesthetic and wellness team across two clinics serving Omaha, Papillion, Council Bluffs, Elkhorn, Bennington and nearby Nebraska towns, with named team members published.
Eligibility
Clinical criteria such as a BMI threshold were not published on the pages we captured.
Lab work
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Pharmacy fulfilment
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Shipping
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Support services
States membership secures the clinic's best pricing on treatments, alongside monthly specials.
Cancellation
Cancellation terms were not published on the pages we captured.
Refunds
Refund terms were not published on the pages we captured.

What stands out

  • Founded and led by a pharmacist of more than 35 years, and originating from a family pharmacy business — an unusual clinical lineage for a weight and aesthetics practice, and one the site documents in detail.
  • States it was the first pharmacy in the country to incorporate a medical clinic with a practitioner licensed to prescribe bioidentical hormones alongside weight loss and aesthetic services, and cites a 2009 Nebraska Pharmacists Association award for innovative practice.
  • Names its team members publicly with backgrounds.
  • Sells weight management as a membership in the same format as its BOTOX and laser memberships, which frames a medical treatment the same way as a cosmetic subscription.
  • Offers financing through Cherry across its treatments. Financing an ongoing medication cost converts recurring treatment into consumer debt, which is worth thinking through carefully.
  • No prices are published for the weight loss membership or the medication.
  • Does not state which weight loss medication is prescribed, or whether it is a GLP-1 at all.

Questions to ask before you pay

These are things we could not settle from published pages, or that we think are easy to misread. Get answers in writing.

  • What does the Weight Loss Management Membership cost, and what does it include?
  • Which medication is prescribed — is it a GLP-1, and is it branded or compounded?
  • If financing is offered, what is the interest rate and total repayable, and what happens if you stop treatment before the loan ends?
  • Is lab work required before starting, and at what cost?
  • No refund or cancellation terms are published for a membership product.

May suit

An Omaha-area patient who values a long-established, pharmacist-led local practice and will get the membership terms and medication details in writing first.

Limitations

  • No published pricing for the weight membership or medication.
  • The medication is not identified.
  • Two Nebraska locations only.
  • Weight management is presented alongside cosmetic memberships.
  • No refund or cancellation terms published.

Frequently asked

Should I finance a weight loss programme?

Be careful. Financing through Cherry or similar converts a recurring medication cost into a fixed debt, and GLP-1 treatment is open-ended — the clinic's own category framing treats it as ongoing management, not a one-off procedure. If you stop treatment because of side effects or cost, the repayments continue regardless. Financing makes more sense for a discrete procedure with a defined end than for medication you may take for years.

Sources

Captured . Pages change — check the current version before relying on anything here.

Worth comparing against

Insurance support

Wellness Edge

Wellness Edge, Nebraska

Nebraska only, with on-site labs, results in a week, and GLP-1 programmes published from $150

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Included
Publishes4/12 terms
Insurance support

Ageless Center

Ageless Center

$99 a week with free B12 shots, published BMI criteria, and the same prices at every location

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Included
Publishes8/12 terms
Compounded

Emerge Weight Loss

Emerge

Compounded tirzepatide priced openly by dose, with the escalation cost shown up front

Membership
from $224/mo
Medication
Included
Publishes1/12 terms