Skip to content

Advertising disclosure: We earn commissions from some of the products we link to. It never changes our scores or what we publish. Read the full disclosure

Tom’s Weight LossRankings
Brand-nameCompoundedNot tested · not scored

Leadwest Medical

Leadwest Medical

A California and Nevada telemedicine practice that prices weight management as a professional service fee rather than a medication subscription — tiered fees with a published 15% multi-month discount, plus roughly $30 a month for care logistics and shipping coordination, and a $100 consultation credited against the medication order. It states it prescribes branded products through insurance and generic or compounded versions for out-of-pocket patients. Weight loss is one line in an unusually wide practice.

Sources captured · researched by Tom

Medications offered

As listed on the provider’s own site. Whether a product is FDA-approved or compounded is the single most important distinction here — we explain why.

  • Wegovy (semaglutide)FDA-approved
  • Ozempic (semaglutide)FDA-approved
  • Mounjaro (tirzepatide)FDA-approved
  • Zepbound (tirzepatide)FDA-approved
  • SemaglutideType not stated
  • TirzepatideType not stated

What they publish

Leadwest Medical publishes 7 of 12 standard terms. Fields marked “not publicly disclosed” were not stated on the pages we captured, and we have not filled those gaps with assumptions. Compare disclosure across providers

Membership / programme fee
No membership — charged as professional telehealth service fees. A $100 consultation is published, applied as a credit to your medication order (as published)
Medication cost
Priced as service fees per cycle plus roughly $30 per one-month cycle for care logistics and shipping coordination. Published worked examples show semaglutide service fees of $250, $300 and $350 across three months totalling $900, discounted 15% to $765; and tirzepatide fees of $450, $550 and $650 totalling $1,650, discounted to $1,403. States retail costs for Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound or Mounjaro without insurance are also available (as published)
Introductory offer
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Insurance
States it prescribes branded medication with insurance and generic for out-of-pocket patients, and that retail cash prices for the branded products are available.
HSA / FSA
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Consultation process
Online account and health questionnaire stated to take under five minutes, then a same-day appointment in person or by telehealth to discuss labs, symptoms and options. States follow-ups and messaging with the care team are available.
Eligibility
States services are offered in California and Nevada. Clinical criteria such as a BMI threshold were not published on the pages we captured.
Lab work
States labs can be ordered as part of the intake where necessary, before the provider visit.
Pharmacy fulfilment
States prescriptions are sent to a local pharmacy of your choosing, which can dispense or ship. No captive pharmacy is required.
Shipping
States the prescription goes to a local pharmacy for collection or is shipped to your home, with a separate published logistics and shipping coordination charge of about $30 per month.
Support services
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Cancellation
Cancellation terms were not published on the pages we captured.
Refunds
Refund terms were not published on the pages we captured.

What stands out

  • Prices its own work as a professional service fee separate from the medication, and publishes worked three-month examples with the discount arithmetic shown. That structure makes the clinician's fee visible rather than buried in a blended monthly price.
  • Separates out a care logistics and shipping coordination charge of about $30 a month rather than folding it in — unusual, and it means the advertised service fee is not the whole bill.
  • Credits the $100 consultation against the medication order.
  • Sends prescriptions to a pharmacy of your choosing rather than a captive fulfilment channel, and offers both branded-through-insurance and out-of-pocket routes.
  • The service fees escalate month by month in the published examples — $250, then $300, then $350 for semaglutide — so cost rises with treatment even though it is framed as a professional fee.
  • Weight management sits within an unusually broad practice that also covers testosterone therapy, state disability certification, IHSS SOC 873 forms, emotional support animal letters, DMV handicap placards and medico-legal documentation for toxic mould litigation.
  • Uses the word 'generic' for non-branded semaglutide and tirzepatide. There is no FDA-approved generic of either; the non-branded route is compounded, which is a materially different thing.

Questions to ask before you pay

These are things we could not settle from published pages, or that we think are easy to misread. Get answers in writing.

  • The published examples show service fees rising each month. What is the full three or six-month total, including the $30 monthly logistics charge and the medication itself?
  • The site describes non-branded semaglutide and tirzepatide as 'generic'. Is it compounded? There is no approved generic of either medication.
  • Does the service fee include the medication, or is the pharmacy bill separate?
  • Is your state covered — the published reach is California and Nevada.
  • No refund or cancellation terms are published.
  • What lab work is required, and what does it cost?

May suit

Someone in California or Nevada who wants to see the clinician's fee itemised separately and to fill the prescription at their own pharmacy.

Limitations

  • Two states only.
  • The pricing structure is complex — tiered service fees, a separate logistics charge, and the medication billed separately.
  • 'Generic' is used for a product category that does not exist in approved form.
  • No refund or cancellation terms published.
  • No published BMI threshold.
  • Weight management is one of many unrelated services.

Frequently asked

Is there really a generic Ozempic?

No. There is no FDA-approved generic semaglutide or tirzepatide anywhere in the United States, and both molecules remain under patent. When a provider offers a 'generic' version, what is meant in practice is a compounded preparation made by a pharmacy — which is legal under the right conditions but is not FDA-approved, is not a generic in the regulatory sense, and does not carry the same evidence or recourse. Ask the practice directly which it is.

What will I actually pay?

Add three things: the professional service fee, which the published examples show rising month by month ($250, $300, $350 for semaglutide over three months, discounted 15% to $765 in total); roughly $30 a month for care logistics and shipping coordination; and the medication itself from the pharmacy. The $100 consultation is credited against the medication order. Get all three in writing before starting.

Sources

Captured . Pages change — check the current version before relying on anything here.

Worth comparing against

Brand-nameCompoundedInsurance support

Get Well Clinic

Get Well Clinic, Texas

Publishes a full cash price list for the whole clinic, names its pharmacy, and charges $50 a week

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Included
Publishes7/12 terms
Brand-nameInsurance support

QuickMD

QuickMD

Flat $99 visit, no insurance and no membership, including liraglutide

Membership
from $99/mo
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes2/12 terms
Insurance support

Circle Medical

Circle Medical

Per-visit primary care pricing, with the average insured out-of-pocket cost published

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes3/12 terms