Skip to content

Advertising disclosure: We earn commissions from some of the products we link to. It never changes our scores or what we publish. Read the full disclosure

Tom’s Weight LossRankings
Brand-nameNot tested · not scored

CareNow Urgent Care

CareNow, an HCA Healthcare urgent care network founded 1993

CareNow is HCA Healthcare's urgent care network, accredited by the Commission on Ambulatory and Urgent Care Quality and accepting most insurance including Medicare and Medicaid in most markets. Its GLP-1 weight loss programme runs through telehealth but requires an in-clinic physical examination, and it publishes both the insurance route and a self-pay menu: $199 for the initial visit, $99 for follow-ups, $65 for the exam where billed separately.

Sources captured · researched by Tom

Medications offered

As listed on the provider’s own site. Whether a product is FDA-approved or compounded is the single most important distinction here — we explain why.

  • GLP-1 weight loss medicationType not stated

What they publish

CareNow Urgent Care publishes 9 of 12 standard terms. Fields marked “not publicly disclosed” were not stated on the pages we captured, and we have not filled those gaps with assumptions. Compare disclosure across providers

Membership / programme fee
Optional SaveNow membership published at $20 per month per family for up to six members, reducing an urgent care visit from a self-pay rate starting at $180 to $20, with outside lab tests at $35 each. Not required for the weight loss programme (as published)
Medication cost
Not supplied by CareNow. The published prices are for visits: a GLP-1 programme initial visit insurance-billed or $199 self-pay, follow-up visits insurance-billed or $99 self-pay, and an in-clinic physical exam billed separately at a $65 self-pay rate where the telehealth visit is insurance-billed, or included in the $199 initial fee for self-pay patients (as published)
Introductory offer
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Insurance
States it accepts all major forms of insurance including Medicare and Medicaid in most markets, files claims on your behalf, and publishes accepted plans by region. Notes plan participation should be verified individually.
HSA / FSA
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Consultation process
The GLP-1 programme is delivered by telehealth with a required in-clinic physical examination. Publishes an initial visit and follow-up visit structure, with expanded hours in Colorado, Nevada and Utah.
Eligibility
States the GLP-1 medical weight loss programme is currently offered only through telehealth, alongside its in-person urgent care network. Specific clinical criteria were not published on the pages we captured.
Lab work
Publishes lab pricing: in-house tests at $105, and send-out tests at $35, $65 or $100 depending on the test, with $35 per outside lab test for members.
Pharmacy fulfilment
Medication is not dispensed by CareNow; prescriptions are filled at a pharmacy. No compounding channel is described.
Shipping
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Support services
States a structured initial-visit and follow-up-visit programme, within an accredited urgent care network with clinics across multiple states.
Cancellation
Publishes membership terms including that a $20 visit fee is refunded and the visit re-billed at the standard self-pay rate if membership eligibility fails.
Refunds
Publishes refund handling for its membership programme where a visit is re-billed at the self-pay rate.

What stands out

  • Part of HCA Healthcare and accredited by the Commission on Ambulatory and Urgent Care Quality — a materially different institutional footing from the telehealth startups that make up most of this directory.
  • Requires an in-clinic physical examination as part of the GLP-1 programme. Almost nothing else here requires the patient to be physically examined at all.
  • Publishes both the insurance route and a complete self-pay menu, including lab prices, so the cost is knowable either way.
  • The visit fees buy clinical care only; the medication is filled at a pharmacy and its cost is not published, so it depends on your coverage.
  • The optional $20 monthly SaveNow membership applies to urgent care visits generally rather than to the weight programme, and is published with its exclusions.
  • Does not state whether the prescribed GLP-1 is branded or compounded, though the insurance-billing model implies branded.
  • No specific BMI or clinical criteria for the weight programme are published.

Questions to ask before you pay

These are things we could not settle from published pages, or that we think are easy to misread. Get answers in writing.

  • The $199 and $99 fees cover visits, not medication. What will the GLP-1 itself cost at the pharmacy under your plan?
  • If your telehealth visit is billed to insurance, the in-clinic exam is a separate $65 self-pay charge. Which combination applies to you?
  • Which medication is prescribed, and will your insurer cover it for weight management?
  • What clinical criteria does the programme apply?
  • Is the programme available in your state — the network's footprint varies by market.

May suit

Someone who wants a GLP-1 prescribed within an accredited, insurance-billing healthcare system, and who values being physically examined before starting.

Limitations

  • No medication supplied or priced, so the largest cost sits outside the published figures.
  • Availability depends on the network's market footprint.
  • No published clinical criteria for the weight programme.
  • The medication type is not stated.
  • The membership discount does not apply to the weight loss programme.

Frequently asked

Why does an in-clinic exam matter?

Because it is the single biggest clinical difference between this and most of the directory. A large part of this market prescribes GLP-1s from a written questionnaire with no examination and sometimes no conversation. CareNow's programme is telehealth-delivered but requires you to attend a clinic for a physical exam, which means blood pressure, weight and a look at you by a clinician before a long-term medication is started. Whether that is worth the extra step is your call, but it is a real difference.

What will it cost?

For visits: insurance-billed, or $199 self-pay for the initial visit and $99 for each follow-up, with the in-clinic exam included in the $199 for self-pay patients or billed separately at $65 if your telehealth visit went through insurance. The medication is not included in any of those figures — it is filled at a pharmacy, and what you pay depends on your coverage.

Sources

Captured . Pages change — check the current version before relying on anything here.

Worth comparing against

Brand-nameInsurance support

Ascend Medical

Ascend Medical

In-network primary care that bills the GLP-1 through your insurance, then moves you to pay-per-refill

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes6/12 terms
Brand-nameInsurance support

QuickMD

QuickMD

Flat $99 visit, no insurance and no membership, including liraglutide

Membership
from $99/mo
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes2/12 terms
Brand-nameInsurance support

Health Express Clinics

Health Express Clinics, Lewisville, Texas

A physician-led Texas clinic that takes insurance and will prescribe the cheap old drugs as well as the new ones

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes7/12 terms