Skip to content

Advertising disclosure: We earn commissions from some of the products we link to. It never changes our scores or what we publish. Read the full disclosure

Tom’s Weight LossRankings
Brand-nameNot tested · not scored

DrHouse

DrHouse

A general on-demand telehealth service — board-certified doctors, video visits in fifteen minutes or less, all fifty states — that will prescribe brand-name GLP-1s including Zepbound, Wegovy and Ozempic to eligible patients who meet clinical guidelines. It accepts insurance and publishes a $129 self-pay visit price. There is no membership and no compounded product: the prescription goes to your own pharmacy and you pay for the medication there.

Sources captured · researched by Tom

Medications offered

As listed on the provider’s own site. Whether a product is FDA-approved or compounded is the single most important distinction here — we explain why.

  • Zepbound (tirzepatide)FDA-approved
  • Wegovy (semaglutide)FDA-approved
  • Ozempic (semaglutide)FDA-approved
  • Oral semaglutide tabletsFDA-approved

What they publish

DrHouse publishes 7 of 12 standard terms. Fields marked “not publicly disclosed” were not stated on the pages we captured, and we have not filled those gaps with assumptions. Compare disclosure across providers

Membership / programme fee
None — charged per visit. Published at $129 without insurance, or your insurance copay where you have coverage (as published)
Medication cost
Not sold by DrHouse. The prescription goes to your own pharmacy and the medication is paid for there, through insurance or self-pay (as published)
Introductory offer
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Insurance
States insurance is accepted but not required, publishes a list of accepted insurers, and states you can use your insurance for the medication itself at the pharmacy.
HSA / FSA
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Consultation process
On-demand video visit with a board-certified doctor, advertised in fifteen minutes or less, with the choice of clinician shown before booking. States all its doctors are board-certified and trained at US medical schools.
Eligibility
States brand-name GLP-1s are prescribed for eligible patients who meet clinical guidelines. The specific criteria were not published on the pages we captured.
Lab work
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Pharmacy fulfilment
States prescriptions are sent to your preferred pharmacy for pickup, or delivered where available. No captive pharmacy is involved.
Shipping
States prescription delivery availability can be checked by ZIP code, with pharmacy pickup offered as an alternative and nearby pharmacies listed.
Support services
States prescription management, refills and pharmacy issue resolution as ongoing services.
Cancellation
Cancellation terms were not published on the pages we captured.
Refunds
Refund terms were not published on the pages we captured.

What stands out

  • Brand-name only, with the prescription going to a pharmacy you choose. That is the opposite of the standard model here, where the provider's own compounded supply is the product being sold.
  • Publishes a single self-pay visit price and accepts insurance for the visit, so the clinical cost is knowable up front.
  • No membership and no subscription — you pay when you need a visit.
  • Because the medication is bought at a pharmacy, the real cost depends entirely on your insurance or the manufacturer's self-pay channel, and DrHouse publishes nothing about it.
  • Weight management is one service among many on a general telehealth platform.
  • Advertises a visit within fifteen minutes, which is faster than the asynchronous review most GLP-1 sellers use — though speed and thoroughness pull in opposite directions for a chronic medication.
  • Names board-certified physicians and lets you pick your clinician before the visit.

Questions to ask before you pay

These are things we could not settle from published pages, or that we think are easy to misread. Get answers in writing.

  • The $129 buys the visit only. What will Zepbound or Wegovy cost you at the pharmacy afterwards?
  • If your insurer requires prior authorisation, will DrHouse file it, and is that included in the visit fee?
  • A fifteen-minute visit is a short window to start a long-term medication. Who monitors dose escalation and side effects afterwards, and at what cost per follow-up?
  • What clinical criteria are applied for GLP-1 eligibility?
  • Is baseline lab work required, and who orders and pays for it?

May suit

Someone who wants an FDA-approved GLP-1 filled at their own pharmacy through their own insurance, and only needs a prescriber — not a subscription.

Limitations

  • No medication is supplied, so the largest cost is entirely outside DrHouse's published pricing.
  • No compounded option, so if coverage is refused there is no cheaper route here.
  • No published GLP-1 eligibility criteria or lab requirements.
  • No refund or cancellation terms published.
  • Weight management is a small part of a general urgent-care-style service, with no dedicated ongoing programme published.

Frequently asked

Do they actually supply the medication?

No. DrHouse writes the prescription and sends it to a pharmacy you choose, or arranges delivery where available. You buy the medication at the pharmacy, using insurance or paying cash. That means the $129 visit fee is the whole of what DrHouse charges — and also that the site tells you nothing about what the drug itself will cost.

Is it cheaper than a subscription service?

It depends entirely on your insurance. If your plan covers Zepbound or Wegovy, a one-off $129 visit plus a copay is likely to be far cheaper than a compounded subscription. If it does not, you will be paying manufacturer self-pay prices at the pharmacy, and a compounded plan may work out lower. Establish your coverage before deciding.

Is a fifteen-minute visit enough?

For writing a first prescription, possibly; for managing a medication you may take for years, it is only the start. GLP-1 therapy involves dose escalation, side effect management and monitoring. Ask what follow-up looks like and what each subsequent visit costs before treating the $129 as the whole picture.

Sources

Captured . Pages change — check the current version before relying on anything here.

Worth comparing against

Brand-nameInsurance support

QuickMD

QuickMD

Flat $99 visit, no insurance and no membership, including liraglutide

Membership
from $99/mo
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes2/12 terms
Brand-name

Sesame

Sesame Care

Marketplace of independent clinicians offering weight loss appointments

Membership
Not published
Medication
Not published
Publishes0/12 terms
CompoundedInsurance support

Omnia TeleHealth

Omnia TeleHealth, founded by Blair Carmichael-Lober, DNP, CRNP

A flat $69 weight loss consultation, published BMI criteria, and a named partner pharmacy

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes7/12 terms