Zhou Nutrition Dihydroberberine
A single-ingredient dihydroberberine capsule at $25.49, described as maximum strength and lab verified, vegan, gluten-free and non-GMO. The formula simplicity and testing claim are good. What the page we captured does not do is publish the actual dose — which makes 'maximum strength' impossible to compare against the 100 mg, 200 mg and 250 mg products sold alongside it.
Last reviewed · researched from the manufacturer’s published pages by Tom
What’s in it
Amounts are shown only where the manufacturer publishes them. Anything without a figure is undisclosed — and for an active ingredient, an undisclosed dose is the central problem with this category.
- Dihydroberberineamount not published
Described as an enhanced form of berberine; the per-capsule amount was not published on the page we captured
How the manufacturer says it works
Zhou Nutrition describes it as an enhanced form of berberine at maximum strength in a single-ingredient formula, vegan, gluten-free, non-GMO and lab verified, framing it as a traditional remedy adapted for modern use.
What the evidence actually supports
A single-ingredient formula with no proprietary blend and a stated lab verification is a reasonable baseline. Dihydroberberine's absorption advantage over standard berberine is genuine, and berberine has the strongest ingredient-level research in this category for glucose and lipid markers.
Where that evidence stops
No per-capsule amount is published, so 'maximum strength' is an unverifiable comparison — it cannot be checked against competitors or against any study. 'Lab verified' is also undefined: it does not state what was tested, by whom, or whether results are available. Dihydroberberine acts through AMPK rather than the GLP-1 receptor, and its effect on body weight specifically is much weaker than its effect on glucose markers. Berberine's CYP3A4 inhibition means genuine interaction risk with many prescription medicines.
Strengths and problems
Strengths
- Single-ingredient formula with no proprietary blend
- Vegan, gluten-free and non-GMO status published
- Competitively priced at $25.49
Problems
- No per-capsule dose published, so “maximum strength” cannot be verified or compared
- “Lab verified” is not defined — no test scope, laboratory or results stated
- AMPK mechanism rather than GLP-1, despite the category
- Real interaction risk with prescription medications via CYP3A4
- Directions, warnings and refund terms were not published on the page we captured
What the manufacturer publishes
Publishes 3 of 8 standard terms.
- Intended use
- Sold as a dietary supplement for daily wellness support, not as a treatment for any condition.
- Directions
- Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
- Warnings
- Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
- Allergens
- States vegan, gluten-free and non-GMO.
- Third-party testing
- States the product is lab verified, without specifying what was tested or by whom.
- Pricing
- $25.49 at capture.
- Subscription
- Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
- Refunds
- Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
- Shipping
- Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
May suit
Hard to choose over the labelled dihydroberberine products at similar prices until the dose is published.
Do not use if
- You want to know the dose you are taking
- You take any prescription medication and have not checked interactions with a pharmacist
- You take glucose-lowering medication
- You are pregnant or breastfeeding
Frequently asked
What does “maximum strength” mean?
Nothing defined. It is a marketing phrase with no regulatory meaning, and without a milligram figure on the page there is no way to compare it against the dihydroberberine products sold alongside it, which range from 100 mg to 250 mg per capsule. Ask for the Supplement Facts panel — the number is on the physical label even when it is not on the website.
Sources
Captured . Manufacturer pages change — check the current version before relying on anything.