Skip to content

Advertising disclosure: We earn commissions from some of the products we link to. It never changes our scores or what we publish. Read the full disclosure

Tom’s Weight LossRankings
Dietary supplementNot tested · not scored

Pure Encapsulations PureLean Satiety

A professional-channel formula built on DNF-10, a branded yeast hydrolysate, with Sensoril ashwagandha and chromium. It cites four randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled studies and quotes their outcomes specifically: 600 fewer calories a day, 3.5 lb and 5.7 lb of weight loss at different doses, with lean mass unchanged. That level of citation is unmatched here. Read on for what those numbers do and do not mean.

Last reviewed · researched from the manufacturer’s published pages by Tom

What’s in it

Amounts are shown only where the manufacturer publishes them. Anything without a figure is undisclosed — and for an active ingredient, an undisclosed dose is the central problem with this category.

  • DNF-10Studies cited at 500 mg and 1,000 mg; the product's own per-serving amount was not published on the page we captured

    Branded yeast hydrolysate; the company states it lowers ghrelin secretion between meals and neuropeptide Y in the hypothalamus

  • Sensoril ashwagandhaamount not published

    Branded aqueous extract of leaf and root, for relaxation and emotional wellbeing; one cited study used 125 mg

  • Chromiumamount not published

    Trace mineral, for glucose metabolism support

How the manufacturer says it works

Pure Encapsulations states the formula targets appetite to moderate caloric intake, promotes emotional wellbeing to support healthy food behaviours, supports healthy cortisol levels and sleep, and supports healthy body composition — citing four double-blind randomised placebo-controlled studies of DNF-10 in healthy overweight subjects reporting decreased caloric intake, waist circumference, abdominal fat and body weight.

What the evidence actually supports

This is the most substantiated product in this directory, and it is not close. It names every active, uses branded characterised ingredients, states the doses used in the studies it cites, describes the proposed mechanism in specific physiological terms — ghrelin and neuropeptide Y suppression — and quotes outcomes rather than gesturing at 'clinical research'. The reported findings are also internally coherent: 500 mg producing a 600 calorie daily reduction and 3.5 lb loss, 1,000 mg over ten weeks producing 5.7 lb, with lean mass unchanged in both. Preserved lean mass is a genuinely relevant outcome. Ashwagandha has a reasonable evidence base for perceived stress, which is a defensible reason to include it in an appetite formula.

Where that evidence stops

The mechanism cited is ghrelin and neuropeptide Y — not GLP-1. This product is not a GLP-1 supplement and does not claim to be; it appears in this directory because it is sold into the same satiety market. The trials are small, short and, as is standard for branded ingredients, funded by or conducted for the ingredient supplier, which is where publication bias lives. The effect sizes are modest in absolute terms: 3.5 to 5.7 lb over eight to ten weeks is real but is a fraction of what the GLP-1 medications produce. Crucially, the product's own DNF-10 amount is not published on the page we captured, so there is no way to know whether it delivers the 500 mg or 1,000 mg used in the studies — a branded ingredient below its studied dose carries the name without the evidence. At $52.50 for 60 capsules it is also expensive. Note too that we captured this from an authorised distributor's listing carrying the manufacturer's product copy; Pure Encapsulations' own product page was not reachable at capture.

Strengths and problems

Strengths

  • Cites four double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled trials with specific outcomes
  • Names every active and uses branded, characterised ingredients
  • States a specific physiological mechanism rather than a vague one
  • Reports lean mass unchanged, which is the outcome that matters most during weight loss
  • Professional-channel brand with an established formulation reputation

Problems

  • The product's own DNF-10 amount is not published, so it cannot be matched to the studied doses
  • Trials are small, short and supplier-funded, which is where publication bias sits
  • The mechanism is ghrelin and neuropeptide Y, not GLP-1
  • $52.50 for 60 capsules is expensive
  • Captured from a distributor listing; the manufacturer's own page was unreachable

What the manufacturer publishes

Publishes 1 of 8 standard terms.

Intended use
Sold as a dietary supplement for appetite moderation, emotional wellbeing and healthy weight management support, not as a treatment for any condition.
Directions
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Warnings
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Allergens
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Third-party testing
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Pricing
$52.50 for 60 capsules at capture, from a distributor listing.
Subscription
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Refunds
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Shipping
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.

May suit

Someone who wants the most substantiated satiety formula available and will ask the distributor for the DNF-10 amount per serving before committing.

Do not use if

  • You take glucose-lowering medication — chromium is additive
  • You have a thyroid condition — ashwagandha can affect thyroid hormone levels
  • You are pregnant or breastfeeding — ashwagandha is not advised
  • You expect results comparable to a prescription GLP-1

Frequently asked

Is this the best-evidenced supplement here?

On the strength of what it publishes, yes. Four randomised double-blind placebo-controlled trials with stated doses and quoted outcomes puts it well ahead of everything else in this directory, most of which cites nothing checkable at all. Two caveats keep it honest: the trials are small and supplier-funded, and the product does not publish its own DNF-10 dose — so you cannot confirm it contains the amount that produced those results. Ask for that number.

Does it work like Ozempic?

No, and it does not claim to. The mechanism described is suppression of ghrelin and neuropeptide Y — hunger signals — whereas GLP-1 medications act on the GLP-1 receptor. The scale is also different: the trials here report 3.5 to 5.7 lb over roughly two months, against 15% or more of body weight in the GLP-1 drug trials. It is a satiety supplement with real if modest data, which is a genuinely unusual thing in this category.

Sources

Captured . Manufacturer pages change — check the current version before relying on anything.