Skip to content

Advertising disclosure: We earn commissions from some of the products we link to. It never changes our scores or what we publish. Read the full disclosure

Tom’s Weight LossRankings
Dietary supplementNot tested · not scored

MegaFood Berberine Phytosome

MegaFood uses Berbevis, a branded berberine phytosome from Indena, at a published 550 mg per serving, and states it was studied in an eight-week clinical trial. Phytosome delivery is the formulation approach designed to address berberine's central weakness — poor oral absorption. The directions are unusually specific: one capsule twice daily for at least eight weeks, which matches the study duration rather than promising a quick result.

Last reviewed · researched from the manufacturer’s published pages by Tom

What’s in it

Amounts are shown only where the manufacturer publishes them. Anything without a figure is undisclosed — and for an active ingredient, an undisclosed dose is the central problem with this category.

  • Berbevis Berberine Phytosome550 mg per serving

    Branded berberine phytosome; Berbevis and Indena Phytosome are registered trademarks

How the manufacturer says it works

MegaFood describes it as offering multifunctional metabolic support with superior absorption, made with clinically studied Berbevis Berberine Phytosome shown in an eight-week clinical study to promote healthy blood sugar levels.

What the evidence actually supports

Berberine has the strongest ingredient-level research in this category, with meta-analyses generally finding modest improvements in fasting glucose, HbA1c and lipid markers. The phytosome approach addresses a genuine problem: standard berberine is poorly absorbed, which is why studies typically use divided doses. Publishing a specific per-serving amount of a named branded ingredient, along with the study length, puts this well ahead of products that hide behind proprietary blends. The instruction to take it for at least eight weeks is consistent with the study rather than implying a rapid effect.

Where that evidence stops

Berberine acts through AMPK, not the GLP-1 receptor, so this is not a GLP-1 mechanism despite the category it is sold in. Effects on body weight specifically are much smaller and less consistent than effects on glucose markers. The eight-week study is cited on the label but not identified on the page we captured, so its design, size and outcomes cannot be checked. And the most important limitation is not about efficacy: berberine inhibits CYP3A4 and other drug-metabolising enzymes, so it can raise blood levels of common prescription medicines. That is a pharmacist conversation before purchase.

Strengths and problems

Strengths

  • Publishes a specific per-serving amount — 550 mg — of a named branded ingredient
  • Phytosome delivery targets berberine's real absorption problem rather than ignoring it
  • Directions match the cited study duration instead of promising fast results
  • Vegan, gluten free and made without nine allergens, all published
  • Competitively priced at $29.99, or $22.49 on subscription

Problems

  • Berberine is not a GLP-1 mechanism, despite the category it gets sold in
  • The eight-week study is referenced but not identified, so it cannot be read
  • Real interaction risk with many prescription medications via CYP3A4 inhibition
  • Third-party testing and refund terms were not published on the page we captured

What the manufacturer publishes

Publishes 5 of 8 standard terms.

Intended use
Sold as a dietary supplement for metabolic support and healthy blood sugar levels, not as a treatment for any condition.
Directions
Adults take one capsule two times daily with water, for at least eight weeks, as published.
Warnings
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Allergens
Made without 9 allergens, as published.
Third-party testing
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Pricing
$29.99 at capture, with $22.49 on subscription and a smaller size listed from $15.99.
Subscription
Subscribe and save pricing published at $22.49.
Refunds
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Shipping
Free shipping over $50, as published.

May suit

Someone whose interest is glucose and lipid markers rather than weight, who wants a labelled dose of a well-characterised berberine form, and who has cleared it with a pharmacist.

Do not use if

  • You take any prescription medication and have not checked interactions with a pharmacist
  • You take glucose-lowering medication — additive hypoglycaemia risk
  • You are pregnant or breastfeeding
  • You expect weight loss comparable to a prescription GLP-1

Frequently asked

What does phytosome mean?

It is a delivery format that binds the active compound to phospholipids to improve absorption. It matters for berberine specifically, because poor oral bioavailability is that ingredient's main weakness — a large dose on the label does not necessarily mean much of it reaches your bloodstream. A phytosome form is a reasonable answer to that problem, and the published 550 mg figure lets you compare it against other products directly.

Is this a GLP-1 supplement?

It gets sold in that aisle, but the mechanism is AMPK activation rather than anything at the GLP-1 receptor. MegaFood's own copy stays on metabolic and blood sugar support rather than claiming a GLP-1 effect, which is the accurate framing. If you want the berberine evidence, this is a well-labelled way to buy it; if you want a GLP-1 effect, no supplement provides one.

Sources

Captured . Manufacturer pages change — check the current version before relying on anything.