Skip to content

Advertising disclosure: We earn commissions from some of the products we link to. It never changes our scores or what we publish. Read the full disclosure

Tom’s Weight LossRankings
Dietary supplementNot tested · not scored

BulkProbiotics Akkermansia Muciniphila Probiotic Powder

A single-ingredient bulk powder of Akkermansia muciniphila at 200 billion AFU per gram, sold by the gram with no capsules and no fillers. It makes a distinction most competitors avoid: that much of the Akkermansia on the market is pasteurised postbiotic rather than live bacteria, and that this is the live organism. It also publishes a full serving table so you can choose your own dose — which is the product's main strength and its main practical difficulty.

Last reviewed · researched from the manufacturer’s published pages by Tom

What’s in it

Amounts are shown only where the manufacturer publishes them. Anything without a figure is undisclosed — and for an active ingredient, an undisclosed dose is the central problem with this category.

  • Akkermansia muciniphila200 billion AFU per gram

    Live probiotic, stated as the only ingredient with no fillers

How the manufacturer says it works

BulkProbiotics states the powder contains live Akkermansia muciniphila at 200 billion AFU per gram with no fillers, notes that most Akkermansia sold is a pasteurised postbiotic rather than live bacteria, and states the freeze-dried format survives shipping without ice packs and needs refrigeration only after opening.

What the evidence actually supports

The live-versus-pasteurised distinction is real and genuinely useful. Akkermansia muciniphila is the most-researched single organism in this category, and notably the best-known human trial actually used the pasteurised form, which performed at least as well as the live one — so 'live' is a meaningful product difference, but not automatically the superior choice. Selling a single organism with no fillers and publishing an AFU figure per gram is about as transparent as this category gets, and the per-gram pricing makes cost comparison straightforward.

Where that evidence stops

Self-dosing a loose powder is the practical problem. The published serving table runs from 3 billion AFU at about 1/128 of a teaspoon to 50 billion at 1/8 teaspoon — quantities that cannot be measured accurately with a kitchen spoon, and the site does not state which serving size is appropriate or why. There is no established optimal dose for Akkermansia supplementation, and the trial evidence used specific preparations at specific doses rather than a range you choose yourself. Akkermansia influences the gut barrier and can affect endogenous GLP-1 secretion, but that is orders of magnitude away from what a GLP-1 medication does, and no probiotic has produced weight loss approaching those drugs. Directions, warnings, allergen information and third-party testing were not published on the page we captured.

Strengths and problems

Strengths

  • Single ingredient, no fillers, with the AFU per gram published
  • Explains the live-versus-pasteurised postbiotic distinction that most competitors leave unstated
  • Per-gram pricing published across three sizes, so cost comparison is easy
  • Far cheaper per serving than encapsulated Akkermansia products
  • No cold-chain shipping required, with the reasoning explained

Problems

  • You have to dose it yourself, at quantities as small as 1/128 of a teaspoon
  • No recommended serving size is stated, and no rationale for choosing between them
  • No directions, warnings, allergen information or third-party testing published
  • Akkermansia's effect on endogenous GLP-1 is nothing like a GLP-1 medication

What the manufacturer publishes

Publishes 3 of 8 standard terms.

Intended use
Sold as a bulk dietary supplement ingredient for gut health support, not as a treatment for any condition.
Directions
No single recommended serving is stated. Publishes a table of servings per container at 3, 5, 10, 20 and 50 billion AFU, with approximate teaspoon and milligram equivalents. States you should refrigerate after opening.
Warnings
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Allergens
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Third-party testing
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Pricing
$33.97 for 10 g ($3.39/g), $117.97 for 50 g ($2.35/g) and $177.97 for 100 g ($1.77/g) at capture.
Subscription
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Refunds
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Shipping
Free US shipping, and free international shipping over $100 with a published code. States freeze-dried powder needs no ice packs and arrives active even after long or hot transit.

May suit

Someone who already knows what dose of Akkermansia they want, owns a milligram scale, and wants to pay a fraction of the per-serving cost of capsules.

Do not use if

  • You do not have an accurate scale — the servings are too small to measure by spoon
  • You are immunocompromised, have a central line, or have had recent gut surgery — live probiotics carry real risk in these situations
  • You want a defined dose someone else has decided on
  • You are pregnant or breastfeeding

Frequently asked

Is live Akkermansia better than pasteurised?

Not necessarily, which cuts against the usual assumption. The best-known human trial of Akkermansia muciniphila used the pasteurised form and it performed at least as well as the live organism — pasteurisation appears to preserve the surface protein thought to drive the effect. So the distinction BulkProbiotics draws is real and worth knowing, but 'live' is a difference rather than automatically an upgrade.

How do I measure 1/128 of a teaspoon?

You realistically cannot, not with kitchen measures. The published table gives milligram equivalents — around 31 mg for a 3 billion AFU serving — which means a milligram scale if you want any accuracy. That is the trade-off for bulk pricing: much cheaper per serving, but the dosing responsibility moves to you, and the site does not tell you which serving size to pick.

Sources

Captured . Manufacturer pages change — check the current version before relying on anything.