Skip to content

Advertising disclosure: We earn commissions from some of the products we link to. It never changes our scores or what we publish. Read the full disclosure

Tom’s Weight LossRankings
Brand-nameCompoundedNot tested · not scored

Shapely

Shapely

Shapely is built around getting brand-name GLP-1s covered by insurance rather than selling compounded medication as the default. It publishes a membership fee, staffs a prior authorisation team, includes monthly video visits with a provider and a registered dietitian, and lists the insurers it works with. It also sells compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide self-pay for people who cannot get coverage. The catch is geography: at capture it served four states.

Sources captured · researched by Tom

Medications offered

As listed on the provider’s own site. Whether a product is FDA-approved or compounded is the single most important distinction here — we explain why.

  • Wegovy (semaglutide)FDA-approved
  • Zepbound (tirzepatide)FDA-approved
  • Ozempic (semaglutide)FDA-approved
  • Mounjaro (tirzepatide)FDA-approved
  • Oral Wegovy (semaglutide tablets)FDA-approved
  • Foundayo (orforglipron)FDA-approved
  • Compounded semaglutideCompounded · not FDA-approved
  • Compounded tirzepatideCompounded · not FDA-approved

What they publish

Shapely publishes 9 of 12 standard terms. Fields marked “not publicly disclosed” were not stated on the pages we captured, and we have not filled those gaps with assumptions. Compare disclosure across providers

Membership / programme fee
Published at $99/month, with a promotional rate of $49/month displayed and a stated first month at $9 when paying with insurance. States membership is required to access medications (as published)
Medication cost
Compounded semaglutide self-pay published from $99/month on a longer plan, with monthly figures of $139 and $179 and a three-month total of $297 also shown; compounded tirzepatide from $166/month, with $199, $249, $279 and a three-month total of $498 shown. Foundayo published at as little as $25/month with commercial insurance coverage or from $149/month self-pay. Brand-name medication is billed through insurance where coverage is obtained (as published)
Introductory offer
Advertises $50 off the first month, and a $9 first month for members paying with insurance.
Insurance
Built around it. States it is covered by Medicare and major PPO plans, lists the insurers it works with, and staffs prior authorisation specialists who file for brand-name coverage on the member's behalf. States compounded medication is self-pay only and not reimbursed by insurance.
HSA / FSA
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Consultation process
States monthly video visits with a weight loss provider, plus access to registered dietitians, as part of the membership.
Eligibility
States it serves adults aged 18 and over in California, Florida, New York and Texas, with expansion planned. Publishes the FDA eligibility criteria for Foundayo — BMI of 30 or greater, or 27 or greater with at least one weight-related condition.
Lab work
States recent labs are strongly recommended but not required before starting most weight loss medications, that it will either order labs or accept results from the previous six months, that labs are typically covered by insurance subject to a co-pay, and that patients without insurance can have them for a flat $75 via a Labcorp draw.
Pharmacy fulfilment
States it can help patients access manufacturer self-pay channels — Wegovy through NovoCare and Zepbound through LillyDirect. The compounding pharmacy is not named on the pages we captured.
Shipping
States shipping, syringes and alcohol pads are included with compounded medication.
Support services
States members get a care team including a weight loss provider, registered dietitians and prior authorisation coordinators.
Cancellation
Cancellation terms were not published on the pages we captured.
Refunds
Refund terms were not published on the pages we captured.

What stands out

  • One of the few providers in this directory that leads with insurance coverage rather than cash-pay compounded medication, and that names the plans it works with.
  • Lists Foundayo (orforglipron), the oral GLP-1, and oral Wegovy alongside the injectables — a broader brand-name range than most telehealth providers publish.
  • Publishes a specific self-pay lab price ($75 via Labcorp) rather than leaving lab costs unstated, and accepts outside labs from the previous six months.
  • Points patients toward the manufacturers' own cash channels, NovoCare and LillyDirect, rather than only its own compounded products.
  • Served four states at capture — California, Florida, New York and Texas — which is far narrower than the nationwide coverage most competitors advertise.
  • Several different membership figures appear across the site ($99, $49 and a $9 first month with insurance), so the ongoing rate is worth confirming before signing up.
  • Publishes trial-derived average weight loss figures for branded medications with a stated caveat that results vary.

Questions to ask before you pay

These are things we could not settle from published pages, or that we think are easy to misread. Get answers in writing.

  • Is your state one of the four served? Coverage was California, Florida, New York and Texas at capture.
  • Which membership figure applies to you after the promotional period — $99 or $49?
  • If the prior authorisation is refused, what does the programme cost you and what is the fallback plan?
  • Membership is stated as required to access medication, so the membership fee is on top of any medication cost. What is the combined monthly total in your case?
  • No cancellation or refund policy is published. What happens if you stop mid-month?

May suit

Someone in California, Florida, New York or Texas with commercial or Medicare coverage who wants a brand-name GLP-1 through insurance and help fighting the prior authorisation, rather than a cash-pay compounded product.

Limitations

  • Four states at capture, so most of the country cannot use it.
  • Membership is required to access medication, so the fee sits on top of the drug cost.
  • Compounded medication is self-pay only and, as the site itself states, not reimbursable by insurance.
  • No cancellation or refund terms are published.
  • The compounding pharmacy is not named.
  • Brand-name medication cost depends entirely on your insurer, so the total is not knowable from the site.

Frequently asked

What makes this different from the usual compounded seller?

The order of operations. Shapely leads with brand-name medication through insurance — it lists the plans it works with, states Medicare and major PPO coverage, and staffs prior authorisation specialists to file the paperwork. Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are offered as a self-pay fallback rather than the main product. Most of this directory works the other way round.

Can I use it where I live?

Only if you are in California, Florida, New York or Texas. The site states those four states at capture and says it plans to expand to all fifty. This is the single biggest limitation on an otherwise unusually well-documented service, so check before you invest time in the intake.

What will lab work cost me?

The site says labs are strongly recommended but not required, that it will order them or accept results from the previous six months, and that they are typically covered by insurance with a possible co-pay. Without insurance it publishes a flat $75 through a Labcorp draw. Publishing an actual number here is rare enough to be worth noting.

What is Foundayo?

Orforglipron, Eli Lilly's oral GLP-1 for chronic weight management — a pill rather than an injection. Shapely publishes it at as little as $25 a month with commercial coverage, or from $149 a month self-pay. Very few providers in this directory list it at all, and the figures here come from Shapely's own page rather than from us.

Sources

Captured . Pages change — check the current version before relying on anything here.

Worth comparing against

Brand-nameInsurance support

Ro Body

Ro

Brand-name GLP-1s with a dedicated insurance team that files prior authorisations for you

Membership
from $74/mo
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes7/12 terms
Brand-nameCompoundedInsurance support

Found

Found Health

Offers both compounded and brand-name routes, plus a Medicare Part D bridge programme

Membership
Not published
Medication
Not published
Publishes5/12 terms
Brand-nameInsurance support

LifeMD Weight Management

LifeMD

Low-cost general telehealth membership with weight management layered on top

Membership
from $19/mo
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes5/12 terms