Skip to content

Advertising disclosure: We earn commissions from some of the products we link to. It never changes our scores or what we publish. Read the full disclosure

Tom’s Weight LossRankings
Not tested · not scored

Rivas Weight Loss

Rivas Weight Loss

Rivas runs fifteen clinics across Maryland, Virginia and Florida alongside telehealth, and prices its GLP-1 programmes by the week rather than the month — $115 a week for any dose of one medication and $165 a week for any dose of the other, described as all-inclusive of the visit and the medication. There are no contracts, no insurance and no membership; FSA is accepted. B12-type injections are published separately at $20 to $25 a shot.

Sources captured · researched by Tom

Medications offered

As listed on the provider’s own site. Whether a product is FDA-approved or compounded is the single most important distinction here — we explain why.

  • GLP-1 weight loss medicationType not stated
  • Vitamin B12 injectionsType not stated

What they publish

Rivas Weight Loss publishes 5 of 12 standard terms. Fields marked “not publicly disclosed” were not stated on the pages we captured, and we have not filled those gaps with assumptions. Compare disclosure across providers

Membership / programme fee
None — states no contracts and no hidden fees, with the visit and medication in one all-inclusive price (as published)
Medication cost
Published at $115 per week for any dose and $165 per week for any dose depending on the medication, stated as all-inclusive of visit and medication. A separate figure of typically $115 per month is published against another programme, and injections at $20-$25 per shot (as published)
Introductory offer
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Insurance
States no insurance is needed.
HSA / FSA
States FSA is accepted.
Consultation process
In-person visits at its clinic locations or by telehealth, with the visit included in the published price.
Eligibility
States clinics operate in Maryland, Virginia and Florida with telehealth in those states. Clinical criteria such as a BMI threshold were not published on the pages we captured.
Lab work
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Pharmacy fulfilment
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Shipping
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Support services
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Cancellation
Cancellation terms were not published on the pages we captured.
Refunds
Refund terms were not published on the pages we captured.

What stands out

  • Fifteen physical clinics is a substantial in-person footprint by the standards of this directory, where most entries are telehealth-only.
  • Prices by the week rather than the month. At $115 a week that is roughly $498 a month and at $165 a week roughly $715 a month, which is worth calculating before comparing against the monthly figures used everywhere else.
  • States a flat price for any dose, so titration does not raise the bill.
  • The visit is included in the price rather than billed on top.
  • Does not state whether the GLP-1 medication is branded or compounded on the pages we captured, which is the single most important thing a reader needs to know.
  • Accepts FSA but not insurance.
  • Several different figures appear on the homepage ($115 a week, $165 a week, $115 a month, $20-$25 a shot) without a clear key to which applies to what.

Questions to ask before you pay

These are things we could not settle from published pages, or that we think are easy to misread. Get answers in writing.

  • Weekly pricing needs converting: $115 a week is about $498 a month and $165 a week about $715 a month. How does that compare with the monthly plans you are considering?
  • Is the medication branded or compounded? The site does not say, and it changes everything about what you are buying.
  • Which of the published figures applies to which medication and which programme?
  • What clinical criteria are used, and is lab work required?
  • No refund or cancellation terms are published. What happens if you stop mid-course?

May suit

Someone in Maryland, Virginia or Florida who wants to be seen in a clinic rather than through an app, and who is comfortable establishing the medication type at the first visit.

Limitations

  • Three states only.
  • The medication type — branded or compounded — is not published.
  • Weekly pricing makes comparison with the rest of the market harder than it needs to be, and the effective monthly cost is high.
  • No insurance accepted.
  • No refund, cancellation, lab or eligibility terms published.

Frequently asked

What does it really cost per month?

Do the arithmetic before comparing: $115 a week works out at roughly $498 a month and $165 a week at roughly $715 a month, because most months contain more than four weeks. Those are high figures relative to the compounded telehealth market, though they include the clinic visit, which telehealth prices usually do not cover in the same way.

Is the medication brand-name or compounded?

The pages we captured do not say, and that is the first question to ask. A branded Wegovy or Zepbound prescription at these prices would be good value; a compounded preparation at the same price would not be, relative to what the compounded market charges. The answer determines whether the medication is FDA-approved.

Sources

Captured . Pages change — check the current version before relying on anything here.

Worth comparing against

CompoundedInsurance support

Medi-Weightloss

Medi-Weightloss

National clinic franchise that bills visits to insurance and includes labs in the first visit

Membership
No membership fee
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes4/12 terms
Brand-nameCompoundedInsurance support

West Medical

West Medical

Surgical and medical weight loss group publishing honest whole-market cost ranges

Membership
Not published
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes2/12 terms
Compounded

Options Medical Weight Loss

Options Medical Weight Loss

Clinic group offering compounded injections plus oral weight medication options

Membership
Not published
Medication
Not published
Publishes0/12 terms