Skip to content

Advertising disclosure: We earn commissions from some of the products we link to. It never changes our scores or what we publish. Read the full disclosure

Tom’s Weight LossRankings
Brand-nameNot tested · not scored

Maven Clinic

Maven Clinic

Maven sells a membership for GLP-1 care built around women's metabolic and hormone health, with medication billed separately through insurance or a manufacturer self-pay channel. Its defining position is stated openly: it prescribes FDA-approved medication only and will not prescribe compounded GLP-1s, on the grounds that what is in the vial should match the label. Membership covers the clinical team, dose adjustments and two specialist consultations.

Sources captured · researched by Tom

Medications offered

As listed on the provider’s own site. Whether a product is FDA-approved or compounded is the single most important distinction here — we explain why.

  • Brand-name FDA-approved GLP-1 medicationsFDA-approved

What they publish

Maven Clinic publishes 7 of 12 standard terms. Fields marked “not publicly disclosed” were not stated on the pages we captured, and we have not filled those gaps with assumptions. Compare disclosure across providers

Membership / programme fee
Published as a promotional first month followed by $150/month for the GLP-1 care membership, covering visits with the care team, dose adjustments and two specialist consultations (as published)
Medication cost
Billed separately. Published self-pay tiers of $149, $199, $299 and $1,000+ per month depending on the medication, with a stated starting point of $25/month where insurance covers it (as published)
Introductory offer
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Insurance
States GLP-1 medication may be covered by insurance, that it helps members understand potential coverage and self-pay options, and that costs are often comparable to a typical copay. The membership itself is charged separately from medication.
HSA / FSA
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Consultation process
Visits with a GLP-1 care team led by board-certified physicians specialising in women's metabolic and hormone health, with dose adjustments and two included specialist consultations for nutrition guidance and strength training.
Eligibility
States eligibility is checked before enrolment. Specific clinical criteria were not published on the pages we captured.
Lab work
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we captured.
Pharmacy fulfilment
States prescriptions go to your own pharmacy, or are delivered for selected medications. No compounding pharmacy is involved, by stated policy.
Shipping
States the prescription is sent to your own pharmacy, or to your door for selected medications.
Support services
States on-demand visits with metabolic and hormone health specialists, plus nutrition and strength support included in the membership.
Cancellation
Cancellation terms were not published on the pages we captured.
Refunds
Refund terms were not published on the pages we captured.

What stands out

  • States plainly that it prescribes FDA-approved medications only and never compounded ones, and explains why — that compounded versions lack FDA oversight for safety, dosing accuracy and quality. Very few providers in this directory take a public position against compounding at all, and fewer still put it on the product page.
  • Publishes a tiered self-pay medication ladder ($149, $199, $299 and $1,000-plus) rather than a single figure, which reflects the real spread between manufacturer self-pay channels and full retail.
  • Separates the membership fee from the medication cost explicitly, so the two-part structure is visible rather than blurred.
  • Includes strength training and nutrition consultations in the membership, which speaks to muscle loss — a known issue with these medications that most sellers do not address.
  • Clinical framing is specifically around women's hormones, metabolism and life stage rather than weight alone.
  • Prescriptions go to your own pharmacy rather than a captive fulfilment channel.
  • Neither refund nor cancellation terms are published.

Questions to ask before you pay

These are things we could not settle from published pages, or that we think are easy to misread. Get answers in writing.

  • Membership at $150 a month is on top of medication. What is the combined monthly cost once your insurer has ruled?
  • If your insurer declines coverage, which self-pay tier would you fall into — $149, $199, $299 or over $1,000?
  • No refund or cancellation policy is published. What happens if you stop after a month?
  • What are the clinical eligibility criteria, given none are published?
  • If a brand-name product is unavailable at your pharmacy, what is the fallback — given compounded medication is ruled out by policy?

May suit

Someone who wants a brand-name, FDA-approved GLP-1 and has decided against compounded medication on principle — and who wants muscle preservation and nutrition treated as part of the programme rather than an afterthought.

Limitations

  • The membership fee buys clinical care, not medication; the drug is a separate and much larger cost.
  • No compounded option at all, so if coverage is refused and the self-pay tiers are out of reach there is no cheaper route here.
  • No refund or cancellation terms published.
  • No published clinical eligibility criteria.
  • Medication cost is largely determined by your insurer, so the total is not knowable from the site.

Frequently asked

Why won't they prescribe compounded GLP-1s?

Maven states its reason on the page: compounded GLP-1s are pharmacy-mixed versions of the brand-name medications, often cheaper, but without FDA oversight for safety, dosing accuracy or quality — and that what is in your medication should be exactly what is on the label. Whether you agree, it is a clear and public position, and it tells you what you are buying. Most of this directory sells compounded product without stating a position at all.

What does it actually cost?

Two separate things. The membership is published at a promotional first month then $150 a month, and covers the care team, dose adjustments and two specialist consultations. The medication is billed separately, published from $25 a month where insurance covers it and at self-pay tiers of $149, $199, $299 or over $1,000 depending on the product. Add both before comparing this with an all-inclusive compounded plan.

What are the extra specialist consultations for?

Nutrition guidance and strength training, included at no extra charge per the published membership description. That matters more than it sounds: a meaningful share of the weight lost on GLP-1s is lean mass, and structured resistance training and protein intake are the standard countermeasures. A provider building those into the membership is addressing a real gap.

Sources

Captured . Pages change — check the current version before relying on anything here.

Worth comparing against

Brand-nameInsurance support

Ro Body

Ro

Brand-name GLP-1s with a dedicated insurance team that files prior authorisations for you

Membership
from $74/mo
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes7/12 terms
Brand-nameCompoundedInsurance support

Shapely

Shapely

Insurance-first, with prior authorisation specialists and a compounded fallback — but only four states

Membership
from $49/mo
Medication
Billed separately
Publishes9/12 terms
Brand-nameCompoundedInsurance support

Found

Found Health

Offers both compounded and brand-name routes, plus a Medicare Part D bridge programme

Membership
Not published
Medication
Not published
Publishes5/12 terms